Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Diversity Committee
Share |



Welcome to the Diversity Committee web page!

 DIVERSITY  is the makeup of the individuals in an organization: it is all the unique backgrounds, perspectives, beliefs and experience of people that may be shaped by the individuals’ race, gender, geographic location, creed, ethnic background, language, sexual orientation, abilities, and many other factors. 


The Diversity Committee's objectives:         

  1. Work closely with the Membership Committee to ensure that membership issues and continued growth are addressed for all groups and types of memberships involved in the Section.
  2. Create visibility and awareness with target groups and employers.  With the assistance of the AWWA, the Committee shall collect information on the current diversity within the Section, determine which groups are underrepresented and identify groups to target for membership or services such as Training, Workshops and Webinars, develop a specific plan for increasing membership among underrepresented groups and increase awareness of diversity within the AWWA and Section among Section members.
  3. Coordinate and maintain dialogue with other committees that have influence on involving members including, but not limited to, the Water Professionals Conference Planning Committee, Education Committee, Conference Technical Committee, and Student & Young Professionals Committee.

Please send all nominations for the Diversity Award

to Roderick Sherman at roderick.sherman@amwater.com

 2018-2019 Diversity Award Nomination Form



 2018 Diversity Award Winners

Army Caudill (2017-2018 Committee Chair), Martha Segal,  

Lindsay Bryant (Award winners), and Sonia Allman (2017-2018 Chair)



Diversity Event at WPC18, Nashville, TN                                     Diversity Event at WPC18, Nashville, TN #3

Diversity Event at WPC18, Nashville, TN #2                               Diversity Event at WPC18, Nashville, TN #4

Having a ball at Diversity Event at WPC18, Nashville, TN




Diversity Committee:

Roderick Sherman - Chair  CONTACT

Zack Daniel - Board Liaison

Kimberly Strong

Jeff Parker

Rosemary Owens

Johnnie Rice

Martha Segal

Meriah Rose

Jasmine Mungo

Adonia Phillips

Daniel Tegene

Marie Shadden

Tamika Parker